Film about Spitak earthquake submits nomination for oscars

Film about Spitak earthquake submits nomination for oscars –

The National Film Academy of Armenia has received three applications for submission to the 89th Academy Award, in the foreign language category. The movies submitted are Jivan Avetisyan’s “The Last Inhabitant”, Davit Safarian’s “28:94 Local Time”, and Sarik Andreasyan’s “Earthquake” 

Earthquake, written by Aleksey Gravitskiy and Sergey Yudakov (with participation from Grant Barsegyan and Arsen Danielyan). The film is a fictional account of the devastating 1988 Spitak earthquake that destroyed more than 300 towns across Armenia, displacing more than half a million people. Set in Leninakan, Armenia, the film follows the interwoven stories of a 50-year-old Russian and a 28-year-old Armenian who work together to rescue desperate survivors despite their complicated past.

The cast includes Sabina Akhmedova (The Ninth Cloud, High Security Vacation) and newcomer Viktor Stepanyan. Sarik Andreasyan, Gevond Andreasyan, Ruben Dishdishyan and Aram Movsesyan serve as producers.

Earthquake is set for a wide theatrical release under its original title Zemletryasenie in 1,000 theaters across Russia on December 1 by Caro Premier Film Company, a licensee of Warner Bros. International Pictures.

Watch trailer

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.