Armenia, Artsakh declare August 17 and 18 as days of mourning

Armenia and Nagorno-Karabakh (Artsakh) have declared August 17 and 18 as national days of mourning in memory of those who died in the August 14 explosion at the Surmalu market in Yerevan.

Rescuers have so far recovered 16 bodies from the site of the strong explosion in the Armenian capital of Yerevan as of Tuesday.

Hundreds of rescue workers, firefighters and volunteers have been engaged at the scene since the first moments of the tragedy. Still, two people remain missing, the Emergencies Ministry said.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.