Yerevan Unveils Draft Agreement on Entry to Eurasian Union

The presidents of Kazakhstan, Russia, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan meet at a Eurasian Union summit in Astana. May 29, 2014.

YEREVAN (Arka)—On Friday, Armenia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs unveiled a draft agreement on the country’s accession to the Russian-led Eurasian Economic Union.

“It is important to note that before the signing of this treaty changes are possible on the sides’ consent,” the Foreign Ministry explained.

On May 29, Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus signed a treaty on the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union. The treaty takes force on January 1, 2015.

On Sept. 1, Russian President Vladimir Putin approved the government’s proposal to sign an accession agreement with Armenia.

On Sept. 3, the Eurasian Economic Commission reported that the final version of the treaty had already been sent to the governments of Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, and Armenia for ratification.

The four countries will meet in October to ratify Armenia’s entry into the Union.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.