Three Armenians Re-elected to Turkish Parliament

Three Armenians Re-elected to Turkish Parliament –

Turkey’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) has won a critical parliamentary election, regaining the majority it lost in June.

With almost all ballots counted on Sunday’s general elections, AKP had won 49.4% of the vote, with the main opposition CHP on 25.4%.

The pro-Kurdish HDP crossed the 10% threshold needed to claim seats.

 According to the results of the parliamentary election three Armenians were re-elected.

 Markar Esayan, an Armenian-Turkish journalist for the pro-AKP daily Yeni Safak, entered the parliament on an AKP ticket as the 12th candidate from Istanbul’s second election area.

 Attorney Selina Dogan, from the Republican People’s Party (CHP), was elected as the first deputy candidate from the second election area of the CHP’s Istanbul list.

 Garo Paylan, who ran for parliament as the second nominee from the pro-Kurdish HDP’s third election area in Istanbul was also elected.


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.